New US customers: Starlink adds $100 account credit after two months subscribed when you order through a referral link.$100 credit for new US customers. How it works

Independent · not affiliated with SpaceXRules from Starlink’s own pages · oldest check

Glossary

The words you’ll meet, in plain English

35 words from Starlink’s bills, order pages and referral terms, and a few of this site’s own, each explained from Starlink’s text with its source. Examples are made up and labeled.

Rules checked Against Starlink’s own pages. How we check

The referral and its rules

Eligible plans

The Starlink plans that carry the referral reward: the Residential and Roam plans, not Business or Priority.

Starlink’s help center lists Residential 100 Mbps, Residential 200 Mbps, Residential Max, Roam 100GB, Roam 300GB and Roam Unlimited (plus the older Residential and Residential Lite)[1]. Its terms add that not every plan earns the new-customer reward; Starlink says it shows the eligible plans at sign-up[2].

Priority, Business and Enterprise accounts don't earn referral rewards[1], and Starlink’s Personal Maritime plan isn’t on its list of referral-eligible plans[1] (our reading).

Hypothetical example
A Mini on a Roam 100GB plan, ordered on starlink.com through a referral link: Roam 100GB is on Starlink’s list.

Related: Who qualifies for the Starlink $100 credit? · The rules side by side: You pick a plan that counts · Starlink prices by address, and what $100 covers at each

Eligible Referral

Starlink’s term for a referral that has met every condition in its terms, so the reward can be issued.

A Pending Referral becomes one once your service stays active and in good standing, without a break, through two complete monthly billing cycles[2]. Starlink alone makes the call; in its terms’ words: Final determination of whether a referred customer constitutes an Eligible Referral rests exclusively with SpaceX in its sole discretion and such determination is final and binding.[2]

Starlink can hold back or delay a reward while it checks eligibility[2]. It pays once: All payments are one-time for each Eligible Referral.[2]

Related: The rules side by side: Starlink decides, and can hold or take back a reward · Who qualifies for the Starlink $100 credit?

Good standing

A condition on your account while the referral matures. Our plain reading: your bills are paid and your service isn’t suspended.

The terms ask for it through both billing cycles: your service stays active and in good standing, without a break, through two complete monthly billing cycles[2]. Starlink counts those cycles by paid bills: Starlink counts the two cycles by monthly service invoices actually paid[2].

If a payment fails, Starlink tries again: a failed US payment is retried about every 2–3 days for up to 24 days; service continues meanwhile, then may be turned off[3]. Starlink can suspend or end service for non-payment not cured within 24 days of the invoice date[4].

Hypothetical example
Your card expires and bill 2 fails. Updating the card and paying before the retries run out gets bill 2 paid, and paid bills are what Starlink counts.

Related: Paying: methods, failed payments and card holds · The rules side by side: You stay subscribed for two full billing cycles and pay the bills · $100 referral credit not showing? Find the cause

High-speed plan

Starlink’s wording for a plan with full service, as opposed to Standby Mode. The referral’s two billing cycles must be on one.

The referral needs two full billing cycles, and both cycles have to be on a high-speed plan, and months in Standby Mode don’t count[2]. Starlink’s Standby article uses the same words: Standby Mode pauses high-speed service for a small monthly fee; it isn't offered on promotional offers[5].

The plans that carry the reward are under Eligible plans.

Related: The rules side by side: Standby Mode doesn’t count toward the two cycles · Who qualifies for the Starlink $100 credit?

Minimum Subscription Duration

The referral terms’ name for how long you must stay subscribed before the reward counts, measured in paid monthly bills.

The terms set it in one sentence: The Referred Subscriber completes the Minimum Subscription Duration by continuously subscribing to a high-speed service plan (excludes Standby Mode) for the period specified in Schedule A below.[2] Elsewhere they say your service stays active and in good standing, without a break, through two complete monthly billing cycles[2]. Starlink counts the two cycles by monthly service invoices actually paid[2], so a bill that fails and stays unpaid doesn’t count toward it (our reading).

The same rule in plain words: Two full billing cycles.

Related: The rules side by side: You stay subscribed for two full billing cycles and pay the bills · Paying: methods, failed payments and card holds

Natural person

Legal wording for an individual human, as opposed to a company.

Starlink’s referral terms say: Referred Subscribers must be natural persons.[2] So you sign up as an individual person, not a company[2]. Priority, Business and Enterprise accounts don't earn referral rewards[1].

Its Terms of Service say the same about every account: the account must be in your own name (household members may help)[4].

Hypothetical example
You order home internet in your own name, not in the name of your farm company.

Related: Who qualifies for the Starlink $100 credit? · The rules side by side: You sign up as a person, in your own name

Pending Referral

Starlink’s term for a referred sign-up that hasn’t yet finished the two billing cycles the reward needs.

The terms use it in this sentence: The Referred Subscriber must maintain continuously subscribed and in good standing for two full monthly billing cycles in order for a Pending Referral to mature to an Eligible Referral.[2]

The person whose link you used can follow it: Starlink’s Referrals page labels referrals Pending, Processing, Rewarded, Complete, Failed or Ineligible, and can show an “Expected” date (our reading of the starlink.com page code)[6]. Starlink can change the program or the reward with 30 days' notice, and referrals already pending keep the old terms during that notice period[2].

Related: When the $100 credit shows up · The rules side by side: The program can change

A special starlink.com link that carries a promotion code. It isn’t a referral link, and some work only for the email address that received the offer.

Starlink’s order page accepts promotion codes only through special links (?promoCode=), and its error messages tie some to the email address the offer went to; nowhere can you type one (our reading of the starlink.com page code)[6].

A referral also rides in a link with nothing to type, but it’s a different thing: see Referral link.

Related: Savings that aren’t from Starlink · Only have a code, not the link?

Referral Code Applied

The green panel on Starlink’s order page that shows the referral link is attached to your order.

The order page adds a green panel reading “Referral Code Applied” beside the Checkout button (beneath it on desktop, directly above it on phones) once the referral is attached[6] (our reading). When the referral can’t be used, an amber “Referral Code Not Applied” panel appears instead, for instance because the code is invalid or doesn’t fit that order type; the order can still be placed, just without the reward[6] (our reading).

The panel shows the link was attached, not that the order qualifies: the decision on whether an order qualifies is Starlink’s alone, and it’s final[2]. Take a screenshot of it before you pay; it’s your record if the credit doesn’t show.

Related: Check for “Referral Code Applied” before you pay · The steps, from the link to the $100

An existing customer’s personal starlink.com link that carries their referral code, so there’s nothing to type.

You order the kit using the existing customer's unique referral link; no other method counts[2]. An order placed without the link can’t have a referral attached afterwards[1], and the order flow has no field for typing a referral code, as far as we found[6] (our reading).

Finish the order in the tab the link opened: in our reading of the starlink.com page code (Oct 29, 2026), the referral is held only in the browser tab the link opened, so closing that tab drops it; Starlink doesn’t publish this as a rule[6]. Read Starlink’s help pages in another tab, because a few of Starlink’s help articles link to starlink.com carrying some other customer’s referral code, and opening one in your order tab swaps out the referral you arrived with (our reading of the starlink.com page code)[6].

Hypothetical example
You open a friend’s link, enter your address, pick a plan and see “Referral Code Applied” next to the Checkout button before you pay.

Related: How to tell a real referral link · Why the same tab matters · Check for “Referral Code Applied” before you pay

Standby Mode

Starlink’s way to pause high-speed service for a small monthly fee. Time in Standby doesn’t count toward the referral.

Standby Mode pauses high-speed service for a small monthly fee; it isn't offered on promotional offers[5]. For the referral it’s a gap: the referral needs two full billing cycles, and both cycles have to be on a high-speed plan, and months in Standby Mode don’t count[2].

Rental-kit customers can't pause service[7], and resuming from Standby charges the monthly fee right away, prorated[5].

Hypothetical example
You order a Mini on a Roam plan and switch it to Standby as soon as it arrives, because your trip is months away. Standby doesn’t count, so those months don’t move you toward the reward.

Related: The rules side by side: Standby Mode doesn’t count toward the two cycles · Roam plans and the Mini · How to use a Starlink referral link and get the $100

Two full billing cycles

How long you must stay subscribed, paid up and on a high-speed plan, before the referral counts.

Your service stays active and in good standing, without a break, through two complete monthly billing cycles[2], and both cycles have to be on a high-speed plan, and months in Standby Mode don’t count[2]. Starlink counts the two cycles by monthly service invoices actually paid[2].

The terms call this the Minimum Subscription Duration. Each cycle starts on your billing day: see Billing cycle.

Hypothetical example
Your first bill comes on March 12. The first cycle runs to April 12 and the second to May 12, so two full cycles have passed on May 12, with bills 1 and 2 paid.

Related: The rules side by side: You stay subscribed for two full billing cycles and pay the bills · When the $100 credit shows up · Your billing cycle: paid in advance, on the same day each month

All terms

Prices, kits and offers

30-day return window

The 30 days from your Payment Due Date in which Starlink’s Terms of Service let you return a kit, bought or rented, for a refund.

A bought kit: a kit bought on starlink.com and sent back undamaged inside the 30 days after the Payment Due Date is refunded in full, first month’s fee included[4].

A rented kit, in the Terms of Service’s words: If you rented Starlink Kit, you will be refunded your Activation Price only.[4] A timely return also refunds the first month's service or rental fee and the demand surcharge[4]. Starlink’s rent article adds a separate, shorter rule: if you decide not to go ahead with a rental, the kit must go back in good condition within 7 days of delivery[7].

To return a kit you have to cancel the subscription[29]; shipping and handling charges are non-refundable, even on a return[4], and after a return, Starlink takes up to 2 weeks to start the refund, then 10–15 business days at the bank[30]. A kit that goes back ends the subscription, so it earns no referral credit.

Related: Cancelling, returns and refunds · Is the 30-day trial a free month?

Activation Benefit

Starlink’s name for a discount on new Mini kits bought on starlink.com, applied at checkout. It needs a new account and an activation.

A new Mini kit bought on starlink.com in the US comes with an Activation Benefit at checkout, which Starlink can charge back if the kit isn’t activated within 7 days of delivery[8]. The Mini Activation Benefit needs a new Starlink account and activation; transferred kits don't qualify[8].

On Oct 30, 2026, the order page showed the Mini as “$149 (typically $249)” with a 12-month installment option[9]; our reading is that the gap between the two prices is the Activation Benefit. It isn’t the referral. Not stated: whether the $100 referral credit combines with an area discount, area promotional pricing, the Mini Activation Benefit or the Residential Max Mini offer unverified[2].

Related: The Mini’s “typically” price · The Mini: a lower kit price, or installments

Area discount

A Starlink discount on the monthly price for service addresses in a few named US areas, applied automatically.

Starlink’s help center names three:

  • Cameron County, Texas area: 50% off Residential service, applied automatically by service address; no upfront hardware cost for new customers[10]
  • Vermilion Parish, Louisiana area: half-price Residential service, applied automatically[11]
  • Eligible parts of the Memphis area: half-price service, applied automatically[12]

Moving out of the eligible area ends the area discount on future bills[10], and if an area discount ends for existing customers, Starlink promises at least 6 months' notice[11]. Starlink’s “Regional Savings” are something else: Starlink’s list of areas with one-time “Regional Savings” names only Mexico (separate from the US area discounts on the monthly price)[13].

Not stated: whether the $100 referral credit combines with an area discount, area promotional pricing, the Mini Activation Benefit or the Residential Max Mini offer unverified[2].

Related: Three US area discounts

Demand surcharge

A one-time charge in some high-demand areas when you buy or activate service. It isn’t a monthly price.

Busy areas can carry a one-time demand surcharge at purchase or activation, set by the address and plan[14]. Starlink’s invoice glossary: A one-time congestion charge per residential service line, up to about $1,500, for standard service in a congested cell.[15]

The surcharge can also hit when you move into a congested cell or switch from Roam to a standard (Residential) plan; you pay only the increase if the line already paid one[15]. Returning the kit within 30 days refunds an eligible demand surcharge[14].

The referral credit doesn’t pay it: credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[16]. Don’t mix it up with a price level, the monthly price your address gets.

Related: What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for · How to read your bill · Why your price differs

Kit rental

Getting the Starlink kit as a rental instead of buying it: a one-time activation charge, plus a monthly rental fee only where your order summary shows one.

Rental kits are for Residential plans only[7]. On Starlink’s US list the activation charge is $0, $99 or $199 one-time, depending on your address and plan ($99 is a professional-installation add-on; $199 is a rental kit with professional installation)[17], and rental activation fees vary by location; the order shows the amount[7].

The monthly fee: Starlink’s rent article says a monthly rental fee is charged every month on top of the service fee[7], but it gives no amount, and the fee can be zero: on Oct 30, 2026, at one public test address, the order page priced the rented kit at $0 a month[9]. Starlink’s order page says a monthly rental fee, if any, appears on the checkout screen and is charged on activation day or 30 days after delivery, if that’s sooner[6].

The press-reported fee is history: a report of Jun 16, 2026 put it at $10/mo press report[18], and SatelliteInternet.com reported on Jul 20, 2026 that the monthly rental fee had been removed from new Residential orders press report[19].

Rental-kit customers can't pause service[7], rental billing starts automatically on day 7 after delivery if you have not activated[7], and a rental service line can't be transferred to another person or place[7]. Whether US Residential kit rentals carry a 12-month commitment: one Starlink help article says they do, while the rent article and the Terms of Service don't mention one unverified[20].

The referral and a rental: it’s unconfirmed whether renting the kit still earns the reward: the terms require that the new customer “must purchase a Starlink Kit and subscription directly from www.starlink.com”, and Starlink has never said if a rental qualifies unverified[2]. Also not stated: whether the $100 credit can pay a monthly kit rental fee, where one is charged, as well as the service charge unverified[16]. Returning a rented kit: see 30-day return window.

Related: Renting the kit: not confirmed · What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for · Starlink Residential kits are rentals: the $10 monthly fee reported in June was reported removed in July

Mini installments

Paying for a Starlink Mini kit monthly over 12 months instead of all at checkout, at 0% interest.

Starlink’s Roam order list offers the Mini for $12.41/mo[21] over 12 months instead of $149[21] at checkout. The Mini installment plan carries a fixed 0% APR, so no interest[22].

Mini installments need 12 months of unbroken service; on Residential, cancelling, transferring, switching plans or pausing with Standby makes the balance due at once[22]; on Roam, Mini installments allow switching Roam plans or Standby[22]. If you default on Mini installments, Starlink may send the balance to collections and report to credit bureaus[22].

Whether the referral credit can pay an installment: Starlink doesn’t say. It says credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[16], and an installment pays for the kit, so our reading is no.

Related: The Mini: a lower kit price, or installments · What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for

Price level

Our word, not Starlink’s, for one of the monthly prices a Residential plan can have, depending on your service address.

US Residential prices vary by region[23], and starlink.com shows no Residential price until you enter an address[24]: Starlink’s instruction for seeing your price is to enter your address on starlink.com and click “Order Now”[25].

Seen so far:

  • Residential 100 Mbps: $44 to $55/mo (levels seen in Starlink’s own price data, Oct 29–Nov 3, 2026)[17]
  • Residential 200 Mbps: $68 to $85/mo (levels seen in Starlink’s own price data, Oct 29–Nov 3, 2026)[17]
  • Residential Max: $104 to $156/mo (levels seen in Starlink’s own price data, Oct 29–Nov 3, 2026)[17]

The $100[1] doesn’t depend on your price; how many bills it covers does. A price level is a monthly price; the demand surcharge is a one-time charge.

Starlink has told some customers by email that its Residential prices are “dynamic”, set by network capacity and demand (as reported by the press, Oct 29–30, 2026) press report[26].

Related: Every price level, and what the $100 does at each · First-year Starlink cost with the $100 credit · Starlink now prices Residential plans by address: what that means for the $100 credit

Promotional pricing

A lower monthly price for a fixed period that Starlink offers new customers in some areas, shown when you order.

In some areas a new customer is offered a lower service price for a set period, such as 6 or 12 months, visible only on that address’s order page at starlink.com[27]. Promotional service pricing is for new customers, one service line, no commitment[27]; promotional pricing begins on activation day, or a week after delivery if that comes first[27].

Changing your plan, cancelling or being suspended ends that promotional pricing[27], and when promotional pricing ends, Starlink moves you to the standard monthly price in your region[28]. Standby isn’t offered on it: Standby Mode pauses high-speed service for a small monthly fee; it isn't offered on promotional offers[5].

Are the address-based price levels a promotion? Starlink’s US price list shows no promotion end date, duration or adjustment for the address-based Residential prices, but tags the products “reduced cost” without saying what that means, and the list changed twice between Oct 25 and Nov 2, 2026 (our reading of the list fields)[17].

Not stated: whether the $100 referral credit combines with an area discount, area promotional pricing, the Mini Activation Benefit or the Residential Max Mini offer unverified[2].

Related: Starlink’s own offers, side by side · Why your price differs

Service line

One Starlink subscription at one service address, with its kit. Some charges and offers count per line, not per account.

Starlink counts some things per line: demand surcharges apply per service line, not per account[14], and promotional service pricing is for new customers, one service line, no commitment[27].

A Residential account can have up to 8 kits[31]; a rental service line can't be transferred to another person or place[7].

The meaning above is our reading of how Starlink uses the term: none of the Starlink texts we read defines it.

Related: Two kits through one link: one reward or two? · What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for

All terms

Bills and billing dates

Account Subscription

The name on your invoice for the monthly service charge, which you pay in advance.

Starlink’s invoice glossary: It pays in advance for the service period shown by the start and end dates, and it can also include data overage from the previous period.[15]

This is the line the referral credit pays: credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[16], and a credit comes off what you owe on a statement, but never more than that statement's total[16].

Related: How to read your bill · What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for

Account Unified Sign-Up Order

The name on your invoice for a new customer’s first purchase on starlink.com, usually the kit.

Starlink’s invoice glossary: A purchase by a new customer from starlink.com. It usually includes a Starlink kit, and it can include devices and accessories. It can also include the first subscription, a deposit, or an activation kit that ships.[15]

An online order is charged at checkout[32], before any referral credit exists: the first month is paid in full and the kit activated as usual; the checkout total has no referral deduction[1].

Related: How to read your bill · What you pay on order day

Billing cycle

The month between two Starlink bills. You pay for each one in advance, at its start.

Your billing cycle starts on the day the kit is first activated[32], and each bill is due on the first day of its billing period (you pay in advance)[32]. Later bills come on the same day each month, the anniversary of the Payment Due Date[4]. Starlink’s billing article says billing date changes aren’t supported: your billing date follows the day you activate (activating on the 29th–31st moves it to the 28th)[32].

The referral needs two of these in a row: see Two full billing cycles. Changes for the next cycle are due the evening before your billing day, US time: see UTC billing day.

Hypothetical example
You activate on March 12, so your first bill comes that day and the next ones on April 12 and May 12. On May 12, two full cycles have passed.

Related: Your billing cycle: paid in advance, on the same day each month · When the $100 credit shows up

Partial Service Invoice

A separate invoice for the prorated difference when you upgrade your plan partway through a billing cycle.

Starlink’s invoice glossary: A prorated charge for the rest of the current billing period when a non-enterprise customer upgrades their service plan. The amount is the price difference between the new plan and the plan already paid, for the days left in the period.[15]

The referral credit doesn’t pay it: credits don't pay immediate charges or pro-rated costs, such as a reactivation, a plan change or a shop order[16].

Related: Changing plans in the middle of a cycle · What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for

Payment Due Date

The day of your first monthly Starlink charge. It sets your billing day from then on.

Starlink’s Terms of Service define it: your first charge comes on the earliest of: the day you activate, 7 days after delivery, or 30 days after shipping if there's no delivery date (the 'Payment Due Date')[4]. Later bills come on the same day each month, the anniversary of the Payment Due Date[4]. Activate on the 29th, 30th or 31st and your billing date moves to the 28th[32].

The 30-day return window counts from this date too.

Hypothetical example
Delivered on the 1st and activated on the 4th: your Payment Due Date is the 4th, and later bills come on the 4th. Had you activated on a 30th, they would come on the 28th.

Related: When billing starts · When the $100 credit shows up

Preview Next Invoice

The button on your Starlink Billing page that shows your next bill, with any credits and promotions applied, before it’s charged.

In your Starlink account, the Billing tab has a “preview invoice” button that shows next month’s invoice with any promotion or credit already applied[33]. Preview Next Invoice updates daily and shows all charges due so far[32], so look again the day before your billing date.

A credit is applied to the next bill your account generates, or to the one after if a bill is already pending when it lands[34].

Related: When the $100 credit shows up · Where the $100 referral credit shows up

UTC billing day

Starlink runs billing on UTC time, so your billing day starts the evening before in US time zones.

Billing runs on UTC time: changes must be made before 12:00 AM UTC on your billing day, which is the evening before in US time zones[35]. To avoid next month's charge you must cancel before that invoice is generated[4], so make a plan change or cancellation before that evening.

Related: Your billing cycle: paid in advance, on the same day each month

All terms

The $100 and the credits on your account

Available balance

How much of a credit you can still use, shown for each credit in the credit table on your Billing page.

A credit comes off what you owe on a statement, but never more than that statement's total[16]. The part of the $100 that’s bigger than one bill appears to stay on your account as an “available balance” and come off the next bills (our reading: Starlink shows an available balance for each credit and never deducts more than a statement’s total, but doesn’t spell out the carry-over for referral credit)[34].

Each credit’s available balance is listed in the credit table.

Hypothetical example
At the Roam 100GB price of $55/mo[21], a $100[1] credit pays the first bill it reaches in full and would then show $45[21] available.

Related: How the credit is applied to a bill · First-year Starlink cost with the $100 credit

Available Service Credits

The label for the credits you can still use, in the summary under the account balance on your Starlink Billing page.

The Billing page also shows a summary of available credits under the account balance box[34]. Starlink’s billing page lists credits under “Available Service Credits” (or hardware or general credits) with the amount “applicable to service”, and keeps coupons in a separate table with “Uses Remaining” (our reading of starlink.com’s interface text)[6].

We haven’t yet seen how the referral credit is labeled there.

Related: Where to see your credits · When the $100 credit shows up

Credit table

The table of your credits below the invoices on your Starlink Billing page, with each credit’s total and what’s still available.

Your credits are listed at starlink.com/account/billing, in a credit table under the invoices, with the available balance and the total amount[34]. Each invoice shows what was paid, how much credit was applied and what is left[36].

If a credit is missing from a bill or the amount is wrong, Starlink asks you to open a support ticket[34].

Related: Where to see your credits · $100 referral credit not showing? Find the cause

Identity check

One of the things Starlink says the timing of the referral reward depends on.

Starlink’s referral help article says: The amount is issued as soon as 60 days after they activate, depending on your country, settings, and identity check.[1] It doesn’t say what the check involves (our reading of that article).

The only identity step we found in Starlink’s referral texts is for taking the reward as cash. Cash goes through Stripe: in a web browser (not the app) you pick Cash under Referrals > Reward Method, then sign in to or create a Stripe account, verify your identity and link a bank account[1]. If you don't finish the Stripe setup, the reward comes as service credit[1]. When the reward lands: see Referral credit.

Related: When the $100 credit shows up · Setting up cash

Referral credit

The reward a new US customer gets from Starlink for ordering through an existing customer’s referral link: account credit by default, or cash where offered.

Starlink calls it a reward: $100[1] in the US, an amount equal to what the referring customer receives[1]. It comes as account credit unless you choose otherwise, taken off your next Starlink invoice[1], or as cash to a linked bank account where your account offers it, switched on under Referrals in your Starlink account[1].

The first month is paid in full and the kit activated as usual; the checkout total has no referral deduction[1]. Starlink’s terms say it’s credited to your second monthly subscription invoice[2]; its help center says it comes once you’ve had service for two months[1], 60 days after activation at the earliest, subject to your account settings and an identity check[1]. Until about Dec 6, 2026, nobody ordering under these terms can have reached day 60, so both readings stay open.

Other Starlink credits go by similar names: which one is which.

Hypothetical example
You activate on March 3, so your bills come on the 3rd. The terms’ reading puts the credit on bill 2, on April 3. Day 60 is May 2, so the help center’s reading points to bill 3, on May 3.

Related: When the $100 credit shows up · Credit or cash (Stripe): how to take the $100 · Which Starlink $100 is this?

Reward Method

The setting under Referrals on starlink.com where you choose how to take the reward: service credit or cash.

Starlink's own referral page says both people can get cash to a bank account or service credit[37]. Cash goes through Stripe: in a web browser (not the app) you pick Cash under Referrals > Reward Method, then sign in to or create a Stripe account, verify your identity and link a bank account[1].

“Finish onboarding” in the Referrals tab means the Stripe setup for cash is not complete, and cash can't be paid until it is[1]. If you don't finish the Stripe setup, the reward comes as service credit[1], and your cash-or-credit choice is locked in when the reward is paid out[1].

Related: Setting up cash · Credit or cash (Stripe): how to take the $100

Service credit

Money on your Starlink account that comes off future monthly service charges. It’s the referral reward’s default form.

Starlink credits come in three types: generic, service or hardware[34]; the referral comes as account credit unless you choose otherwise, taken off your next Starlink invoice[1].

Credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[16]: credits don't pay immediate charges or pro-rated costs, such as a reactivation, a plan change or a shop order[16]. A credit comes off what you owe on a statement, but never more than that statement's total[16]. Starlink’s own example: a $100 credit on a $120 invoice leaves $20 to pay[16].

Credits are non-refundable and non-transferable, and aren’t paid back if you cancel service[34]. Other Starlink credits go by similar names: which one is which.

Related: What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for · Other credits on your account

All terms

Where these facts come from

  1. Does Starlink have a referral program? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of
  2. Referral Program Terms, US · starlink.com legal doc DOC-1882-84808-83 Starlinkas of · published
  3. Why did I receive a "Payment Failed" email? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  4. Starlink Terms of Service, US Starlinkas of · published
  5. How does pausing service work? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  6. starlink.com’s order pages and page code, our read-only check with no order placed Starlinkas of
  7. What is the rent Starlink option? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  8. What is an Activation Benefit? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  9. Order-page prices for the Texas State Capitol in Austin, used as a public test address; our read-only check, no order placed Starlinkas of
  10. Cameron County Area Discount · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  11. Vermilion Parish Area Discount · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  12. Memphis Area Discount · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  13. What are regional savings? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  14. What is a demand surcharge? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  15. Invoice Description Glossary · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  16. How does a service credit get applied to my account for a promotion? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  17. Starlink’s US Residential price list, as its order page loads it Starlinkas of
  18. Starlink implements $10 rental fee for Residential plans; new customers no longer own their dish (RV Mobile Internet) Pressas of · published · page last changed
  19. Starlink rental (SatelliteInternet.com) Pressas of · published
  20. How do I transfer my Starlink to a new country? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  21. Starlink’s US Roam price list, as its order page loads it Starlinkas of
  22. Retail Installment Agreement, US · starlink.com legal doc Starlinkas of · published
  23. How do I change my service address? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  24. starlink.com home page for a US visitor before any address is entered (rendered text) Starlinkas of
  25. How much does Starlink cost? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  26. Starlink Customers Hit With Price Changes Based on Location (SatelliteInternet.com) Pressas of · published
  27. Promotional Service Pricing Terms of Service · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  28. Service Plan Price Adjustments · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  29. How do I return my Starlink kit? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  30. Refunds · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  31. Can I add additional Starlinks to my account? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  32. How does the monthly service billing cycle work? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  33. How do I know if a promotion has been applied? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  34. Billing - Credits · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  35. How do I cancel service? · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  36. Billing - Unknown Charges · support article on starlink.com Starlinkas of · page last changed
  37. starlink.com Referrals page (rendered text) Starlinkas of

Every change we make is dated in the corrections log.

First Starlink order · US

Ordering Starlink for the first time? $100 credit is available

Our referral link: first-time US customers who buy the kit and plan on starlink.com through it get $100 in credit after two months; the site owner earns a reward as well. Independent site.

Get the $100 credit on starlink.com (opens in a new tab)