On your bill
What the $100 credit can and can’t pay for
The credit is real money, but only for one kind of charge. Here’s every charge on a Starlink account and whether the credit can touch it, from Starlink’s own pages.
This page is about the $100 referral credit, not paying by card, credit checks or other kinds of Starlink credit. Paying by card: how Starlink billing works.
In brief
First bills with the $100
Example price Residential 100 Mbps at the price on Starlink’s latest no-address list (Nov 3, 2026); your address may show a different price.
Order day note 1
Paid at checkout: the kit or rental activation, shipping, tax and any demand surcharge note 2.
Bill 1 note 3Paid in full · cycle 1/2
First month of service is charged upon activation or 7 days after delivery, whichever comes first.
Bill 2Paid in full · cycle 2/2
Bill 3Credit applied
Credit added as soon as 60 days after they activate
(Starlink’s help center) note 5
$50.50 of the credit is left for bill 4.
Bill 4Credit applied
$1 of the credit is left for bill 5 (our reading).
Bill 5Credit applied
- No $100 line on order day. The first month is paid in full and the kit activated as usual; the checkout total has no referral deduction.
- The $100 can’t pay these: Starlink says
Credits are only applied to monthly subscription charges.
- Starlink counts the two cycles by monthly service invoices actually paid: an unpaid one doesn’t count (our reading).
- Not stated Whether the $100 credit can pay a monthly kit rental fee, where one is charged, as well as the service charge. Here the credit pays the service line only (the cautious reading). On Oct 30, 2026, at one public test address, the order page priced the rented kit at $0 a month; Starlink’s order page says a monthly rental fee, if any, appears on the checkout screen and is charged on activation day or 30 days after delivery, if that’s sooner.
- Which bill: Starlink’s terms say the reward is applied on the
second monthly subscription invoice
(bill 2); its help center saysafter they have subscribed for two months
,as soon as 60 days after they activate
(bill 3, or bill 4 when bill 3 is already pending). No order under the current terms reaches day 60 before Dec 6, 2026, so neither reading has been seen in practice yet. - A credit comes off what you owe on a statement, but never more than that statement's total. The rest stays on your account and comes off the next bill (our reading).
Charge by charge
| Charge | Can the credit pay it? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Your monthly service charge (Residential or Roam) | Yes | Credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[2]. |
| The kit, or a rented kit’s one-time charge | No | An online order is charged at checkout[5], before any credit exists. For rentals the one-time charge is $0, $99 or $199 one-time, depending on your address and plan ($99 is a professional-installation add-on; $199 is a rental kit with professional installation)[7]. |
| A one-time activation charge | No | One-time, not monthly: a one-time activation charge can apply, depending on plan and kit; it is refunded with a 30-day return[8]. |
| A monthly kit fee on a rental, where one is charged | Not stated | Starlink doesn’t say whether the $100 credit can pay a monthly kit rental fee, where one is charged, as well as the service charge unverified[2]. Your order summary shows whether you have one: Starlink’s order page says a monthly rental fee, if any, appears on the checkout screen and is charged on activation day or 30 days after delivery, if that’s sooner[4]. |
| The Mini installment line | Not stated (our reading: no) | An installment pays for the kit, and credits can be spent only on monthly service charges[2]. The line: $12.41/mo[9] for 12 months. |
| Shipping | No | Paid at checkout, and shipping and handling charges are non-refundable, even on a return[10]. |
| A demand surcharge | No | Busy areas can carry a one-time demand surcharge at purchase or activation, set by the address and plan[11]. Starlink’s invoice glossary puts it at up to about $1,500[12], once, not monthly. |
| A plan upgrade mid-cycle (“Partial Service Invoice”) | No | “Partial Service Invoice” is the prorated difference when you upgrade mid-cycle[12], and credits don't pay immediate charges or pro-rated costs, such as a reactivation, a plan change or a shop order[2]. |
| Reactivating service | No | Starlink names reactivation among the immediate charges credits don’t pay. |
| Accessories and other shop orders | No | Shop orders are on the same list. |
| Taxes on your bill | Not stated | Starlink may add taxes and legally required fees on top of service, kit and accessory charges[10], and rewards are issued before tax, and Starlink isn't responsible for any tax on them[14]. Starlink doesn’t say whether tax is worked out before or after a credit. |
| Other credits on your account (late delivery, outages, a goodwill credit from support) | Separate credits | They’re credits of their own, with their own rules, not part of the $100. For example: if billing is about to start and the kit still hasn't arrived 30 days after shipping, the trial is extended 30 days and a one-month service credit is added[5]; and Starlink’s automatic outage credits under its service-level agreement are for Local and Global Priority plans, not Residential or Roam[13]. |
“Please note, service credits are not applied to any immediate transactions or pro-rated costs (i.e. reactivation, plan changes, shop orders).”
Paid once, paid every month, and where the $100 can go
Example price Starlink’s order summary splits every order under these two headings (screenshot of starlink.com, taken Oct 30, 2026). Monthly example: Roam 100GB at Starlink’s US list price.
One-Time Payment
Paid at checkout
- The kit: a Standard kit at $349.00 to buy, or a rented kit for Residential: $0, $99 or $199 one-time, depending on your address and plan ($99 is a professional-installation add-on; $199 is a rental kit with professional installation).
- The Mini: $149.00 on Starlink’s US list. The Mini can be ordered with $0 upfront and 12 monthly installments of $12.41 (0% finance charge); those installments sit on the monthly side.
- Shipping: seen at $20 at one address on Oct 30, 2026, and shipping and handling charges are non-refundable, even on a return.
- A demand surcharge, only where demand is high: Starlink's invoice glossary caps the demand surcharge at roughly $1,500 per residential service line.
- Tax, then later one-offs such as
reactivation, plan changes, shop orders
.
The $100 can’t pay these Credits are only applied to monthly subscription charges.
Recurring Monthly Payment
Every month, in advance
- Your plan:
Payment is due on the first day of the billing period.
Example: Roam 100GB, $55.00 a month. - A monthly kit line, where your order has one (Mini installments, or a rental fee where your summary shows one). Not stated Starlink doesn’t say whether the $100 credit can pay a monthly kit rental fee, where one is charged, as well as the service charge.
- Bill 1 is paid in full.
- A later bill: the $100 comes off. Starlink’s terms say it’s
applied on their second monthly subscription invoice
; its help center saysafter they have subscribed for two months
. A credit comes off what you owe on a statement, but never more than that statement's total, and the rest moves to the next bill (our reading). Example, on the help center’s reading: $55.00 → $0.00 on bill 3, then $55.00 → $10.00 on bill 4.
The $100 lands here
How it’s applied to a bill
A credit is applied to the next bill your account generates, or to the one after if a bill is already pending when it lands[3]. You keep getting a monthly statement while a credit is being used[2], the invoice shows the credit as its own line item[2], and your card on file is charged whatever is left after the credit[2]. Starlink’s own worked example: a $100 credit on a $120 invoice leaves $20 to pay[2].
A monthly kit line, where your order has one, sits on the same bill as the service charge. This is what one order page showed for the kit:

Text in this screenshot
| SERVICE | |
|---|---|
| Residential 100 Mbps | $55/mo |
| HARDWARE | |
| If you cancel service, you will have to return your Starlink hardware rental. | |
| Upfront Hardware Cost | $0 |
| Monthly Kit Fee | $0/mo |
| INSTALLATION | |
| After checkout, you will be able to schedule your installation. Additional charges may apply for non-standard installations. | |
| Professional Installation [checkbox, not ticked] | $99 |
Where to see it
- Before a bill is charged: on your Billing page, Preview Next Invoice updates daily and shows all charges due so far[5].
- Under your account balance: the Billing page also shows a summary of available credits under the account balance box[3]; Starlink’s billing page lists credits under “Available Service Credits” (or hardware or general credits) with the amount “applicable to service”, and keeps coupons in a separate table with “Uses Remaining” (our reading of starlink.com’s interface text)[4].
- In the credit table: your credits are listed at starlink.com/account/billing, in a credit table under the invoices, with the available balance and the total amount[3].
- On each invoice: each invoice shows what was paid, how much credit was applied and what is left[6].
Still unsure? Questions, answered
Can the $100 pay for the dish?
What if my bill is smaller than the credit?
Can the credit pay my Mini installments?
Does the credit expire?
Can I give the credit to someone else?
Where these facts come from
- Does Starlink have a referral program? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- How does a service credit get applied to my account for a promotion? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Billing - Credits · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- starlink.com’s order pages and page code, our read-only check with no order placed Starlink
- How does the monthly service billing cycle work? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Billing - Unknown Charges · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Starlink’s US Residential price list, as its order page loads it Starlink
- What is an 'Activation Charge'? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Starlink’s US Roam price list, as its order page loads it Starlink
- Starlink Terms of Service, US Starlink
- What is a demand surcharge? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Invoice Description Glossary · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- What is the Starlink Service Level Agreement? · support article on starlink.com Starlink
- Referral Program Terms, US · starlink.com legal doc DOC-1882-84808-83 Starlink
- Order-page prices for the Texas State Capitol in Austin, used as a public test address; our read-only check, no order placed Starlink
Where to next
- How far $100 goes at each Residential price levelStarlink prices by address, and what $100 covers at eachEvery monthly price level Starlink’s own data has shown, dated, and how many bills the $100 covers at each.
- Credit by default. Cash through Stripe, set up in a browserCredit or cash (Stripe): how to take the $100Credit is the default. Cash needs a Stripe setup in a browser. The choice locks when it pays out.
- Your first year, bill by bill, at your own priceFirst-year Starlink cost with the $100 creditType the monthly price your order page shows and see all 12 first-year bills with the $100, kit costs and the year-one total.